The Ordination and Installation of Sergio Edson Rodriguez as Pastor for Community Ministries

By the grace of God and the call of Christ’s church, Sergio Edson Rodriguez will be ordained into the ministry of word and sacrament through the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America on September 19, 2021 at 5:00 p.m. Bishop Michael Rinehart of the Texas-Louisiana Gulf Coast Synod will preside. Rev. Dr. Javier Alanis, pastor of St. John’s Lutheran Church, San Juan, Texas, former Director of the Seminary of the Southwest, will preach. Mask and COVID-19 safety protocols will be observed.

Join our Livestream of The Ordination and Installation of Sergio Edson Rodriguez as Pastor for Community Ministries on Facebook or YouTube on Sunday September 19th at 5:00 p.m. central.

Follow along with the bulletin by clicking here.

*Hymns and Music in this service*
Hymn 378 – Awake, my heart, with gladness
Psalm 103
Hymn of the Day 725 – Cuando los pobres
Hymn of Invocation Veni Creator Spiritus
Hymn (vs. 1 and 3 English, 2 and 4 Spanish) – Una Espiga
Hymn 722 – O Christ, your heart, compassion

The altar flowers are given today to the glory of God by the Kirk Hansen family in celebration of the ordination and installation of Sergio Rodriguez.

*Mission Offering Designated to St. James Family Life Center*
Those participating in worship by livestream are most welcome to include a mission offering in your online giving today.

Terri Koehler, Ed Nikonowicz – Bellringers
Jeff Thompson, Logan Faron – Head Ushers
Susan Uri, Linda Murray, Phil Cezeaux, Ute Cezeaux – Ushers
Carol Semper, Luis Ivan Echandia – Readers
James Ehler – Presenter
Terri Koehler, Naomi Nelson, Jessica Locheed, Federico Salas-Isnard – Representatives
Aramis Friberg – Crucifer
Tassilo Friberg, Peter Bryant -Torch Bearers
Grace Schaulla -Thurifer
Carson Schaulla – Crozier-Bearer
Trish Chapman – Verger
Deacon Rick Erickson – Primary Musician
Deacon Ben Remmert, Deacon Beth Hartfiel – Assisting Ministers
Rev. Brad Fuerst, Rev. Gabriel Marcano, Rev. Amandus Derr – Charge Ministers
Rev. Brad Fuerst and Rev. Gabriel Marcano – Placing of the Stole
Sergio Edson Rodriguez – Ordinand
Rev. Amandus Derr – Preacher Bishop Mike Rinehart – Presider

Our faith calls us to be an inclusive community welcoming and affirming people of all cultures, races, sexual orientations, and gender identities. Persons wishing to inquire about baptism and participation in the life of this congregation are encouraged to speak with a pastor.

*Health and Safety Protocol at Christ the King:*
To protect the most vulnerable among us, the following have been put in place:
1. Masks are required at all times indoors at Christ the King Church.
2. All visitors and guests must sign in with email addresses and cell phone numbers so they can be contacted if anyone attending services has tested positive for COVID-19.
3. We will cease passing the offering baskets. Baskets will be located at each of the exit doors for you to drop your offering.
4. We ask everyone to social distance inside and outside of the church. We will cease kneeling for confession and intercession.
Why? Some kneel and others sit. If a person kneels in a pew behind a sitting person, they are inches away from each other.
5. We will cease serving refreshments in the courtyard until further notice.
6. We will announce and remind worshipers of masking requirements before confession.
7. All greetings after worship will be in the courtyard to avoid crowding and promote social distancing.

Visit our website:
Subscribe to us on YouTube:
Follow us on Facebook:
Email us:

Church Staff:
Amandus Derr, Interim Senior Pastor
Sergio Rodriguez, Candidate for Ordination
Ben Remmert, Deacon & Director of Youth and Family Ministry
Beverly Davis, Director of Congregational Care
Linda Schoene, Congregational Nurse
Rachel McWhirter, Director of Communications
Rick Erickson, Deacon & Cantor
Ben Kerswell, Music Associate for Christ the King Church and Bach Society Houston
Robert Walp, Director of the Brass Choir
Calvin Harris, Vicki Gorman & Jorge Belonni, Section Leaders
Beth Hartfiel, Deacon & Church Business Administrator
Cheryl Gaspard, Administrative Assistant
Michael Shelton, Receptionist/Secretary
Santiago Callejas & Arturo Ortega, Custodians